Need a Better Way to Edit?

Happy Wacky Wednesday. 

If you’re like me, you have trouble performing organized edits on long pieces.  I tend to jump around a lot.  And I’m always afraid I’ll cut something important out of a dead scene and forget to put it back in somewhere else, or that I’ll make changes that create inconsistencies that will remain overlooked, etc.

It’s not the most effective process.  So, I’m always on the lookout for ways to edit more efficiently.

Recently I found this step by step guide for a one-pass, total edit from Holly Lisle.  I haven’t tried it yet, but I thought I’d share because it looks promising:

One-Pass Manuscript Revision: First Draft to Last in One Cycle 

Hope you find it helpful.

~Marina

73/100

Tagged , , ,

4 thoughts on “Need a Better Way to Edit?

  1. I’ve been having a bit of trouble with the novel I’m currently editing. I have a giant to-do list and have been attempting to check things off of it, but I’m having my own problems with that, partly because I, too, am jumping all over. I’ve started utilizing the “comments” feature in word, finding a location where I think a change will be made and just making a comment describing the needed change. Once I’m done putting everything from my list into comments, I intend to comb through the whole thing in order again, so I’ll at least have context–making more comments as I go as necessary. I’ll take a look at the link, in case it has any good hints that will help my process. Thanks!

  2. I use the comments feature a lot too, but I find things still slip through the cracks. I’m attracted to Lisle’s method because it forces you to deal with a problem right then and there, if you cut it out you should figure out exactly where you’re putting it back, etc. I also like that it forces you to be brutal (Often I know there’s a section that needs crossed out and I don’t wanna… but I eventually come back and do it anyway. This results in multiple soft edits, which is way too time consuming.) And I like her focus points on theme and character.

  3. D.M. Bonanno says:

    Love love love Holly Lisle. She’s an awesoem teacher. that article is one of many free ones I’ve read, and I’ve taken her How To Think Sideways Class as well as being enrolled now in her How To Revise Your Novel class.

    I kind of use her one pass revision in my short stories, but I haven’t had a chance yet to use it for my novels. I’ve found with most of her methods, that not every piece fits me, so I take the pieces that do (a large amount) and apply them to my own process.

    I highly second the recomendation on this article.

Leave a Reply

