Artist Spotlight Interview: Tran Nguyen

Tran Nguyen is a Georgia-based gallery artist and freelance illustrator. Born in Vietnam and raised in the States, she is fascinated by visuals that can be used as a psycho-therapeutic support vehicle.

MJNL: Your art has been featured in many publications, including Spectrum, and you’ve done work for high-profile businesses such as Tor, Hatchet, McDonald’s, and Playboy Magazine.  You’ve also had many gallery exhibitions. To what do you attribute your success?

TN: It’s absolutely all because of my selfless family.  I know it may sound super-saiyan cheesy, but my parents brought my brothers and I to the States with absolutely nothing at hand.  Since we’ve moved here from Vietnam in 1990, I’ve seen my dad work in harsh conditions for meager pay so that I could have a better lifestyle, attend a wonderful school, and pursue my artistic endeavors (which is uncommon in Vietnam).  In witnessing their endless devotion and hard work, I can’t but be inspired to work just as hard and make them proud as well as myself.

To learn more about Tran, and to see a gallery of her work, click on the cover below.

th_a0580aaeccec739569f2502c0aa86498_nightmare_28_january_2015

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

