Comet Man up at Flash Fiction Online!

Today I’ve got a reprint out at FFO!  ‘Comet Man’ is a funny little tale about a father’s disconnect with his adult son.  And the main character rides a comet…bareback…to Jupiter.

Excerpt time!

I don’t care what genetic sub-group you’re from, by comet is a lousy way to travel.  And  no, I don’t mean this touristy shite where they put glass huts on iceballs so rich-kids can ‘rough it’ and still get all the interplanetary TV they want.  I mean real, true-to-physics, grab hold with your gene-modified hooks and hope the torque doesn’t rip your spider-silk-enhanced tendons apart travel. With oxygen bladders full and organic pressure-layer holding fast, I caught my ride to the Jovian mines.  

And forgetting.  

It wasn’t about the ‘big bucks’ the mining recruiter had touted, or the chance to ‘see the system.’  For me, Jupiter was a way to start over–to pretend that distance was the reason Tiffer and I didn’t talk any more.  I wanted to be someplace where there were no family members–if they weren’t there, they couldn’t leave.

Once the rock and ice pummeling began, I hunkered down on the comet and prepared to hibernate for the next however-many months it was to the mines. Sleep came easier than I expected.  Guess it’s not hard to pass out when there’s nothing to do for, you know, ever.

But no bliss is meant to last.  

“Hey, dude, why the long face?”

At first I thought it was a dream–my nosy unconsciousness interfering with my beauty sleep.  Unfortunately, no.

“Yo-yo, what’s happening comet dude?”

You can read the rest (for free!) here: http://flashfictiononline.com/main/article/comet-man/

FFO staffer Stefan Milićević was also kind enough to do an interview with me.  You can check that out here: http://flashfictiononline.com/main/article/an-interview-with-marina-lostetter/

Happy reading!

~Marina

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

