March and April Nightmare Artist Spotlights

I have been remiss in my posting of Nightmare interviews!  Here are the two you might have missed:

Most recently we have Dariusz Zawadzki:

MJNL: Who has influenced you artistically?

DZ: As a child I liked Salvador Dali. I also remember a booklet with Schiller’s ballades I found as a toddler on my parents’ shelf. I spent hours, mesmerized, with my eyes fixed on the illustrations. Later, of course, I had some painters I particularly liked and still like, but what actually influences me is rather a profound world of emotions, not necessarily raised by art. Eyesight is not everything.

Nightmare_31_April_2015_550

And in March we had Robert Emerson:

MJNL: First off I’d like to ask you a question in the spirit of Nightmare: What scares you the most?

RE: Spiders! Can’t stand them, I hate them . . . If they were put on Earth just so birds would have something to eat, then we need more birds.

MJNL: What is your favorite medium to work with and why?

RE: I used to work in pen and ink, pencils, pastels, and oils but lost the use of my right arm/hand. On my journey to being left-handed, I’ve learned to work exclusively in digital mediums, which I truly love.

Nightmare_30_March_2015_533

Click on their respective covers to get the full interview and to see galleries of their beautiful work!

~Marina

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

