Long Time No Post

Hello all!

Long time no post, right? Let me update you on the state of this little one-woman nation.

I had a new short story come out in Flash Fiction Online at the beginning of August. It’s about you. No, really, you. I don’t know how to break it to you, but you’re very sick. The story is told in second person, and I dare you to argue with it. It’s totally about you.

You can read You Are Not a Metaphor here.

I also spent a week-ish in Kansas City for this year’s WorldCon (AKA MidAmericon II). For the most part, I had a blast. Got to see lots of friends, make new ones, and had a great meeting with my editor and agent about NOUMENON’s sequel.

I also took part in a group reading for Galaxy’s Edge Magazine, which was my first-ever public reading. All in all, I think it went pretty well (the panel next door even provided mood music).

Got to observe the Alfies once more (where agent-sib Alyssa Wong took home the Alfie for best short story!), and snapped even worse pictures of the ceremony than I did last time (hey, it was really dark in that theater, and the stage was really bright). For comparison:

 

Last Year

0823150043.jpg

(George R R Martin, Eric Flint, and other lovely people)

This Year

w3r797dv

(George R R Martin and other lovely people I could not identify in a line up with only this picture to go on)

 

In short, I had a great time (again, mostly. Pro tip: do not grab women at parties and then threaten to get into a violent altercation with their agents, okay?), and book two is going to be AWESOME (capitalization for emphasis…Awesome is not the title of book two…but it should be).

If you want a much more thorough recap of the convention, I suggest you take a gander at the write up penned by David Steffen over at Diabolical Plots. He took a lot of great pictures during the week, so pick an author/editor/cool person you love and go play Where’s Waldo.

Recap can be found here.

So now I’m officially in the throes of writing the sequel to NOUMENON. I will keep you in the loop via a newsletter I plan on starting before the end of this month. If there’s anything specific you’d like to see in a newsletter (WIP updates, writerly tips, jokes, cat pictures, grains of wisdom etc.) let me know in the comments!

 

~Marina

Published by Marina J. Lostetter

Writer and Illustrator of Science Fiction and Fantasy.

Leave a comment